skip to Main Content

HCV Application

Safe, decent & affordable housing.


The Section 8 Housing Choice Voucher program is limited to low-income families and individuals. The Scranton Housing Authority (SHA) determines your eligibility based on:

  1. Annual gross income;
  2. Whether you qualify as elderly, a person with a disability, or as a family under general occupancy; and
  3. U.S. citizenship or eligible immigration status.

If you are eligible, the SHA will check your Rental History, Criminal Background, References, and other factors to make sure you and your family will be good tenants. The SHA will deny admission to any applicant whose habits and practices may be expected to have a detrimental effect on other tenants or on the project’s environment.

Back To Top